Frederiksdorp a restored former plantation on the right bank of the Commewijne River in Suriname. This plantation was established in 1747. The first owner was the German Johan Friedrich Kn÷ffel. Later on his surname was dutchify to Knuffel. The plantation is named after him. Friedrich in Dutch is Frederik. Originally it was a coffee plantation, but from 1893 they changed to cacao. Small scale farmers also settle on the plantation. The plantation had an extended function in former days; there was a hospital, police station, jail and school.